The Wilson Ornithological Society

Research Grant Recipients

Louis Agassiz Fuertes Award

Erik D. Doerr, University of Nevada, Reno, "The population genetic consequences of natal philopatry in birds." This study will involve Australian cooperative breeding Brown Treecreeper (Climacterus picumnus) and non-cooperative breeding White-throated Treecreeper (Cormobates leucophaea) using field (radio-tracking) and laboratory (molecular) techniques to investigate population genetic structure

Margaret Morse Nice Award

Ann (Sandy) Kownacki, Aptos, California, "An investigation into mass die-offs of flamingos at Lake Nakuru, Kenya"

Paul A. Stewart Awards

Eric C. Atkinson, Melonie L. Atkinson, and Todd Bauman, Kempton, Pennsylvania, "Mass differences between vernally and autumnally migrating Northern Saw-whet Owl (Aegolius acadicus) in southeast Pennsylvania."

Emilio M. Bruna, Univ. of California, Davis, "Effect of habitat fragmentation on tropical plant-pollinator interactions"

Daniel A. Cristol, College of William & Mary, "Are "Carolina" juncos really short-distance migrants?"

James Robert Miller, Colorado State University, "Avian diversity and predator assemblages along a gradient of urbanization"

Kelley Segars, Univ. of Montana, "Comparison of bird communities in developed and undeveloped riparian areas"

For 1997, 43 proposals were received.

Next Year | Research Awards Home

©2008 Wilson Ornithological Society
Page last updated: Sun, Nov 23, 2008
Contact Web coordinator

DHTML Menu By Milonic JavaScript