The Wilson Ornithological Society

Research Grant Recipients

Louis Agassiz Fuertes Award

Sarah L. Burgess, University of Hawaii at Manoa, for "Identifying the factors that lead to extinction: A case study on the effects of disease, genetic population structure, and demography on the endangered O'ahu 'elepaio (Chasiempis sandwichensis ibidis)."

Kevin M. Pilz, Cornell University, for "Do conspecific brood parasitizing females allocate high levels of androgen to eggs to increase offspring competitiveness? A test with the European Starling, Sturnus vulgaris."

Hall/Mayfield Award

Dan Strickland, Algonquin Provincial Park, for "Does allofeeding occur in the nestling period of Gray Jays on Anticosti Island in the absence of Red Squirrels?"

Paul A. Stewart Awards

Leonard Santisteban, University of Florida, for "Multiple-breeding in the Thick-billed Vireo (Vireo crassirostris): An evaluation of its benefits and costs.".

Rebecca Jo Safran, Cornell University, for "The role of individual decisions in forming population-level patterns: female reproductive strategies and variation in social behavior of Barn Swallow Hirundo rustica."

Emily Beth Cohen, Michigan State University, for "Survival and habitat use of postfledging White-throated Robins in a matrix of habitat types."

Next Year | Research Awards Home | Previous Year

©2008 Wilson Ornithological Society
Page last updated: Sun, Nov 23, 2008
Contact Web coordinator

DHTML Menu By Milonic JavaScript